RE4 Remake Difficulty Levels Guide

RE4 Remake All Difficulty Modes in the game

When starting a game in Resident Evil 4 Remake, you have the option to choose your difficulty level, which will determine how much you will enjoy the game.

Beginners will often go for an easier mode while experienced players may want to get more of a challenge out of the game.

Regardless of the game mode you play, you will still be able to experience the story but certain things may change within the game based on what you choose.

Difficulty Modes

The difficulty modes determine how hard the game will be but with higher difficulty, the game will be more rewarding for you.

Players can choose between Assisted, Standard, and Hardcore modes but later on, after completing the game in Normal or above, you can access the Professional difficulty.

While jumping into a more difficult mode may not be in the best interest of newer players, the game becomes a whole lot more challenging and sometimes even more fun.

All Difficulty Levels in Resident Evil 4 Remake

There are 4 different difficulty levels that you can choose from, where 3 are available at the start and one is unlocked later on.

The following are the difficulty modes for Resident Evil 4 Remake:

1) Assisted Mode

This is the easiest mode and it is very forgiving to newer players, providing them with aim assist along with other benefits.

When playing in Assisted Mode, you will be able to craft more ammo, recover health while in danger as well as buy items from the trader at lower prices.

Assisted Mode was intended for players who are not used to games like Resident Evil 4 Remake and is a good way for them to get used to it.

2) Normal Mode

Playing in Normal Mode is recommended for most players as they can enjoy the whole story as well as have a good chance against enemies.

If you are having too much trouble during Normal Mode, you can always switch to Assisted Mode after being killed.

This gives players a good experience and will allow them to experience the story just the way it was meant to be.

3) Hardcore

When you play in Hardcore Mode, your character will be facing stronger enemies and more difficult challenges.

The prices of the goods sold by The Merchant may become higher, requiring you to farm more to make purchases.

This mode adds a bit more of a challenge for more experienced players or those who can easily adapt to the game.

3) Professional

To play in Professional Mode, you will first have to complete the game in Normal Mode to unlock and play at this difficulty in a new game.

This mode features tougher enemies that hit hard, items from the merchant that are more expensive, no auto-save, and parries that need to be perfect.

Professional Mode is the real challenge for veteran players who are seeking more of a thrill from Resident Evil 4 Remake.

How To Change Difficulty?

You will get to choose what difficulty you will be playing at depending on what is more fun for you when you are progressing through the game.

In the case that you have gotten far in the game and do not wish to create a new game, you will need to switch to Assisted Mode from Normal Mode after dying.


Choosing your game difficulty is a big choice as you will need to be ready for whatever challenges may come next.

While a lot of players will tend to go for Assisted Mode or Normal Mode as these can give players a better chance at surviving.

Harder difficulty modes are best for players who have already completed the game or who are away from the gameplay mechanics.

Photo of author

Michael James

Michael James has been an avid gamer since he was young. He loves to play video games and enjoys writing about it to share his experience and ideas with others. Aside from playing, he also enjoys helping other gamers both ingame and on-site.

Leave a Comment

eighteen + 15 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.